13 Reasons Why NOT: Week 7

Every Christmas I always get this empty feeling. I open up all of my presents and look at everything I got and it doesn’t feel like it’s enough. Now, I’m not trying to sound extremely ungrateful for everything I have, because I am very thankful and I love getting gifts. I hope that I get certain presents, I get them, but then I have to replace the “hope-gap” with something new to hope for.
That’s how the world has trained us to be. We have been trained to want something, receive it, and move on. Ever since we were babies, we got a toy, played with it for a day, and got a new toy. iPhones (do I even have to say anything).
The previously mentioned “hope-gap” is the gap that is left after we get everything we want. It gets bigger and bigger with each hope that is filled and passed on.

Read Romans 8:22-27. Read it again and see how Paul talks about the hope-gap.

1. What do you fill your hope-gap with?

 

We fill the hope-gap with things other than the only Sustainer (God) because it is easier to fill it with things we can see or hold and what we can’t see is harder to hope for. It is easy to hope for Ninja Cold Brew and Hot Brew coffee maker because it is physical and obtainable. It is hard to hope for Jesus because we can’t always see Him, feel Him, or hear Him. Even though sometimes we don’t know how to pray or what to say, just hoping for God in that moment lets the Holy Spirit intercede, or talk for you.

Read 2 Corinthians 4:16-18.
God uses everything, nothing is ever wasted. He makes all things new. We go through hard times but when we cling to the truth in the hard times, we are able to see the good times that are coming

2. What are some promises that God says that you can hold on to?

For me, whenever I am struggling, I ask God to tell me something that He wants me to know. The last time I did, He said “I will never leave you or forsake you.” And the time before that, He said, “I have loved you with an everlasting love.”

Ask God what He wants you to hear. He might not speak it in your ear, but it could be in a bible verse, song, or maybe He will distinctly say it. Listen closely to God and be observant to how he might speak to you. He speaks to everyone differently.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

